My First Custom DVD Menu

If you’ve made a DVD for a school slide show or of a kids birthday party or something you probably haven’t had to do this but if there are perhaps a bunch of shorter family videos or someone wants you to make them  DVD of something specific you may find yourself in need of a disk menu complete with “play all” and “scene select.”

Those who have been following my blog know that I did a DVD for a graduating class with their formal, graduation ceremony and Sr slide show attached so I needed a menu for people to select which video to watch on the disk (rather than burning three separate DVDs for each person). This isn’t the time I’ve had to do that but this time was certainly different! In the past, I’ve cheated and used iDVD. It was simple, easy, and came free on my MacBook. However, I no longer have that laptop and had to turn to something else. In this case: Adobe Encore. This was completely new for me and I had to do some digging to learn how to create a menu properly but it was totally worth it! It may have been more complex with many more steps to create a result (in this case) that was just as simple but it’s something I can point to and say “I did that.” (yes I’m like a toddler being proud to use a spoon but who cares?). This is definitely something I’m going to venture deeper into and learn to do fancier stuff with.

So yes, this is totally a brag post; but I hope you get something out of it. I hope it encourages you to take the next step up on something you’re not as familiar with. Try doing something a new/different way. It might just be fun 😉

Leave a Reply

